Social Channels

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Snapchat
  • Dugout
  • Korean
  • Weibo
  • WeChat
  • Douyin
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sites & Languages

#FirstTeam #Awards #HugoLloris #Heung-MinSon

Hugo, Sonny nominated for Ballon d'Or

Mon 21 October 2019, 23:50|Tottenham Hotspur

Hugo Lloris and Heung-Min Son have made it onto the shortlist for the prestigious 2019 Ballon d'Or award.

It's the first time South Korea skipper Sonny has made it onto the 30-strong list for the award that recognises the best player in the world. Twenty goals again last season, Sonny scored the first Premier League and Champions League goals at the new stadium in April.

Captain of Club and country, Hugo has made the 30 for the third time and also takes his place on a 10-man list for the new Yachine Trophy for goalkeepers.

It's the fourth time we've had two players nominated following Danny Blanchflower/Jimmy Greaves in 1961, Paul Gascoigne/Gary Lineker in 1991 and Hugo and Harry Kane last year.

Presented since 1956 by France's weekly football magazine France Football, the Ballon d'Or - previously known as the European Footballer of the Year and the FIFA Ballon d'Or - was based on voting by football journalists, from 1956 to 2006. After 2007, coaches and captains of national teams were also given the right to vote. Originally it was an award for players from Europe. In 1995 the Ballon d'Or was expanded to include all players from any origin that have been active at European clubs. The award became a global prize in 2007 with all professional footballers from around the world eligible.

As well as the Ballon d'Or and Yachine Trophy, the Women's Ballon d'Or is presented to the best woman footballer and the Kopa Trophy to the best Under-21 player.

The Club's Ballon d'Or nominations

1957 - Danny Blanchflower
1958 - Danny Blanchflower
1960 - Bobby Smith
1961 - Danny Blanchflower, Jimmy Greaves
1962 - Jimmy Greaves
1963 - Jimmy Greaves
1964 - Jimmy Greaves
1968 - Jimmy Greaves
1971 - Martin Chivers
1973 - Pat Jennings
1975 - Pat Jennings
1985 - Pat Jennings
1987 - Glenn Hoddle
1989 - Gary Lineker
1990 - Paul Gascoigne (finished fourth in voting), Gary Lineker
1991 - Gary Lineker
1994 - Jurgen Klinsmann
1999 - David Ginola
2007 - Dimitar Berbatov
2013 - Gareth Bale
2016 - Hugo Lloris
2017 - Harry Kane
2018 - Harry Kane, Hugo Lloris
2019 - Hugo Lloris, Heung-Min Son