AccessibilityTottenham Hotspur Stadium


Spurs Ladies to be renamed Tottenham Hotspur Women

Fri 26 April 2019, 09:00|Tottenham Hotspur

We are delighted to announce that from next season Spurs Ladies will be renamed Tottenham Hotspur Women.

Originally known as Broxbourne Ladies, the Club was formed in 1985 before becoming Spurs Ladies in 1991. Glenn Weaver, who was the first team coach for three years and then Chairman from 1994 until his sad passing in 2015, was instrumental in growing the Club. Glenn worked tirelessly alongside his sister Valerie Weaver and June Clarke who continue to be involved in the Club.

To further support the progress of the women’s team, we have appointed Heather Cowan as Head of Women’s Football to oversee all day-to-day operations having previously undertaken a similar role with her former employers Birmingham City Women.

Speaking about her appointment, Heather said: “I am thrilled to have joined Spurs at a time where women’s football is really starting to flourish. The Club has a wonderful opportunity to create an exciting future and a lasting legacy in the women’s game and I’m looking forward to playing a part in that.

“We shall be working hard to develop a structure and culture that enables talented female footballers to thrive. We’re striving for continued success and to build something that fans, players and staff are all proud to be a part of.”