Are you lost? See if these links help.

Social Channels

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Snapchat
  • Dugout
  • Korean
  • Weibo
  • WeChat
  • Douyin
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sites & Languages

#Euro2020 #International #Awards #Pierre-EmileHojbjerg

Hojbjerg selected for Euro 2020 Team of the Tournament

Tue 13 July 2021, 14:15|Tottenham Hotspur

Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg has been named in the Euro 2020 Team of the Tournament.

The XI, which recognises the top performers from the competition, is selected by UEFA’s team of Technical Observers - a panel which includes Spurs legends Robbie Keane and Steffen Freund.

It is the first time in the history of the tournament that one of our players has earned a place in the team.

Pierre starred for Denmark as they reached the semi-finals of the competition for the third time in their history. Despite having endured a moment of unimaginable trauma in their opening game of the tournament - the sudden collapse of their talismanic playmaker, former Spur Christian Eriksen - and losing their first two group games, the team rallied together and progressed to the knockout phase.

Earning the runners-up spot in Group B with a comprehensive 4-1 win over Russia in their final group game, the Danes then produced commanding displays to defeat Wales in the round of 16 and then the Czech Republic in the quarter-finals. Their fairytale journey ultimately came to an end in the semi-finals though as England overcame them at Wembley with a 2-1 victory.

Throughout Denmark's magical run, Pierre’s tenacity, heart and determination was key for his nation as he played every single minute and covered over 64km on the pitch. He also provided three assists in the competition – a return only bettered by Switzerland’s Steven Zuber.

Back in March, our number five was also voted as Denmark’s Men's Player of the Year.

UEFA Euro 2020 Team of the Tournament

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy)
Kyle Walker (England)
Leonardo Bonucci (Italy)
Harry Maguire (England)
Leonardo Spinazzola (Italy)
Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Denmark/Tottenham Hotspur)
Jorginho (Italy)
Pedri (Spain)
Federico Chiesa (Italy)
Romelu Lukaku (Belgium)
Raheem Sterling (England)