Social Channels

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Snapchat
  • Dugout
  • Korean
  • Weibo
  • WeChat
  • Douyin
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sites & Languages

#FirstTeam #Awards #HarryKane #KieranTrippier

Harry and Kieran shortlisted for FIFA FIFpro World XI

Mon 10 September 2018, 17:47|Tottenham Hotspur

Harry Kane and Kieran Trippier are in contention for a place in the prestigious FIFA FIFPro World XI for 2018.

Five goalkeepers, 20 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 forwards make up the shortlist, which was compiled from the votes of 25,000 professional footballers from 65 different countries, with votes based on the players’ performances between 3 July, 2017, and 15 July, 2018, inclusive.

This is the first time we have had two players in the running and former Spur Kyle Walker is the only other British player in the 55-man selection.

The 2017/18 season was another memorable one for Harry, who was also shortlisted last year. The 25-year-old scored his 100th goal for the club and first Champions League hat-trick in September and he ended 2017 with back-to-back trebles against Burnley and Southampton, taking his tally to a Premier League record 39 in a calendar year.

Harry overhauled Teddy Sheringham to become our top goalscorer in the Premier League era in January and racked up his 100th Premier League goal the following month. His outstanding season concluded at the World Cup, where he scooped the Golden Boot after scoring six times in England’s run to the semi-finals.

Kieran made 35 appearances for us last season and established himself as a regular in the England set-up. His performances at the World Cup drew worldwide acclaim with his crossing and dead-ball delivery as good as anyone at the finals. The culmination of his tournament was a brilliant free-kick that gave the Three Lions the lead in their semi-final against Croatia.

The FIFA FIFPro World XI will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall in London on Monday 24 September.

The shortlist in full...

Goalkeepers (5): Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain/Juventus FC), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid CF/Chelsea FC), David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United FC), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid CF), Marc-André ter Stegen (Germany/FC Barcelona).

Defenders (20): Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid CF), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus FC), Dani Alves (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Diego Godin (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (Germany/FC Bayern Munich) Dejan Lovren (Croatia/Liverpool FC), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid CF), Yerry Mina (Colombia/Everton FC/FC Barcelona), Benjamin Pavard (France/VfB Stuttgart), Gerard Pique (Spain/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid CF), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Kieran Trippier (England/Tottenham Hotspur), Samuel Umtiti (France/FC Barcelona), Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands/Liverpool FC), Raphael Varane (France/Real Madrid CF), Sime Vrsaljko (Croatia/Internazionale/Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (England/Manchester City FC).

Midfielders (15): Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona), Casemiro (Brazil/Real Madrid CF), Philippe Coutinho (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City FC), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea FC), Andres Iniesta (Spain/Vissel Kobe/FC Barcelona), Isco (Spain/Real Madrid CF), N’Golo Kante (France/Chelsea FC), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid CF), Nemanja Matic (Serbia/Manchester United FC), Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid CF), Paul Pogba (France/Manchester United FC), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona), David Silva (Spain/Manchester City FC), Arturo Vidal (Chile/FC Barcelona/FC Bayern Munich).

Forwards (15): Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid CF), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay/Paris Saint-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus FC/Real Madrid CF), Paulo Dybala (Argentina/Juventus FC), Antoine Griezmann (France/Atletico Madrid), Harry Kane (England/Tottenham Hotspur), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium/Manchester United FC), Mario Mandzukic (Croatia/Juventus FC), Sadio Mane (Senegal/Liverpool FC), Kylian Mbappe (France/Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Neymar (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona).