Are you lost? See if these links help.

Social Channels

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Korean
  • Weibo
  • Youku
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sites & Languages


World Cup draw

06 December 2013|Tottenham Hotspur

England have been handed a tough group in next summer's World Cup.

The draw was made this afternoon in Rio and the Three Lions take on Uruguay, Italy and Costa Rica.

Kyle Walker, Jermain Defoe and Andros Townsend were all in the squad for the final two qualifying matches against Montenegro and Poland in October. Aaron Lennon and Michael Dawson will also be determined to make Brazil.

Roy Hodgson's men open their Group D campaign in Manaus when they face Italy on Saturday, June 14.

England then face Uruguay in Sao Paulo (June 19) and Costa Rica in Belo Horizonte (June 24).

Paulinho is a regular in the Brazil line-up and will hopefully soon be joined by Sandro - capped 17 times - who is hitting top form again after his serious injury.

The hosts take on Croatia in the tournament opener on June 12 and will also face Mexico and Benoit Assou-Ekotto's Cameroon in Group A.

Our Belgian trio of Jan Vertonghen, Mousa Dembele and Nacer Chadli face Algeria, Russia and Korea Republic and Belgium prepare for their first World Cup since 2002.

Roberto Soldado played in qualifying for Spain and will hope to make the reigning champions' squad for the tournament - Spain have a tough group against Holland, Chile and Australia.

Hugo Lloris captains France and having come through the play-offs, they face Switzerland, Ecuador and Honduras.

Erik Lamela has been a regular in recent Argentina squads - they face Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran and Nigeria.

Finally, Lewis Holtby will no doubt give his all to get back into the Germany squad and they face Portugal, Ghana and USA.


Group A - Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

Group B - Spain, Holland, Chile, Australia

Group C - Colombia, Greece, Ivory Coast, Japan

Group D - Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy

Group E - Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras

Group F - Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Nigeria

Group G - Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA

Group H - Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korea Republic