Are you lost? See if these links help.

Social Channels

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Korean
  • Weibo
  • Youku
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sites & Languages


Peace Cup Final report: Lyon 1, Spurs 3

Tottenham Hotspur (Spurs) Football Club is located in North London. The club is also known as Spurs. Tottenham's home ground is White Hart Lane. The club motto is Audere est Facere (To dare is to do).

Peace Cup 2005 will be engraved with the name Tottenham Hotspur following our fine victory over French Champions Lyon in Seoul on Sunday.

A sensational start saw an own goal and a Robbie Keane header put us two goals to the good inside the first ten minutes before Keane - voted Most Valuable Player of the tournament - effectively sealed the game just before half-time. A late penalty reply could not alter the outcome of the game.

The early kick-off of 5pm local time saw to it that the teams emerged from the tunnel in steamy conditions and a frantic beginning to the game was not widely anticipated. The boys formed a huddle just before the start as the Korean referee Mr Kwon prepared to get the action underway - albeit a few minutes late.

The boys pretty much dictated the early exchanges with Keane lively and elusive and he was presented with half a chance on five minutes when Wayne Routledge drilled the ball across goal but slightly beyond the forward.

It only took a further minute to take the lead in a somewhat fortunate manner. The speedy Routledge threaded right towards Stephen Kelly and his cross was diverted past keeper Coupet by the outstretched head of Berthod.

The advantage was doubled just two minutes later when Andy Reid set Mido scurrying away down the left and the Egyptian was able to dispatch a precision cross which landed plonk on the head of Keane, who directed the ball with some power past the despairing dive of Coupet.

Lyon, not surprisingly, looked a little shellshocked and slightly shaky at the back. However, they still had the look of a potent force going forward and this final was far but won at this stage. The key, you sensed, was not allowing them to settle and impose their own imprint on the game - much easier to write than implement.

The lead was nearly cut at the 15 minute mark when Essien brilliantly dissected our defence to play in Wiltord and it took a superb response from Radek Cerny to smother the effort of the former Arsenal man.

The Czech was than alert again to deny Malouda, but Coupet matched this with a fine tip over from Reid. Gerard Houllier was wearing a concerned frown when the big screen cameras bought him into shot, probably magnified when the persistence of Routledge and a low centre from Kelly so nearly located Keane in another goalscoring position. Mido then nearly capitalised on further Keane and Routledge invention as the clock showed 26 minutes played.

Four minutes later Wiltord came close to breaching our back gate but chose to square for Diarra, giving time for Erik Edman to avert the danger. Even though it wasn't coming off for them, it was easy to tell Lyon are a class act with such slick interchange between the offensive players. Wiltord was the lone ranger with strong and swift support from Govou, Malouda and/or Pedretti just behind. Essien and Diarra in the middle were not shy in getting forward either.

Edman must have had a problem as he was replaced by Goran Bunjevcevic ten minutes before the break, an option of change Martin Jol would surely have preferred to save until some point in the second half.

Cerny's swift advance saved what looked like being a gilt-edged scoring chance on 41 minutes - a long ball from deep fell perfectly for Wiltord and Paul Robinson's deputy proved how fortunate we are to have such experienced cover.

At the other end we are certainly fortunate to have Keane, who was superbly positioned to make it 3-0 just before half-time after brilliant work from Reid again set Mido away down the the left and the striker zipped in a measured low cross behind the Lyon defence. Keane slotted home, cool as you like at the back post, to score his fourth goal of the competition and put himself in pole position for the top goalscorer award.

Pedro Mendes was introduced after the break in place of Tainio and it was no surprise when Lyon went straight on the offensive in a bid to reduce the deficit. They made a number of changes as the minutes ticked away towards the hour mark but, despite their increased attacking intent, the French champions looked vulnerable to Routledge's pace and skill on the break.

Govou did have a great chance to make an inroad into our lead and it took a remarkable interception from King to thwart the French international wideman. Some sound goalkeeping from Cerny and poor finishing in front of goal ensured our lead remained in tact.

Keane took his leave on 65 minutes, giving Jermain Defoe the chance to make an impact in the final. Keane, hugely popular in these parts, received a huge ovation from the 48,734 crowd as he left the pitch. Fredi Kanoute joined Defoe in attack two minutes later in place of Mido.

Gerard Houllier's new side did claw a goal back in controversial circumstances on 73 minutes, Gardner adjudged to have handled inside the area - a decision which sparked considerable protest. Ben Arfa netted from the resulting penalty although Cerny came mighty close to stopping it down to his left.

The boys were under huge pressure as the game approached the last ten minutes but composure was regained in the final minutes and we now succeed PSV Eindhoven as Peace Cup champions.

Team: Cerny, Kelly, Edman (Bunjevcevic 35), King, Gardner, Routledge, Reid, Tainio (Mendes 45, Marney 87), Carrick, Mido, Keane. Subs from: Fulop, Burch, Yeates, Davenport, Marney, Huddlestone, Lennon, Defoe, Kanoute, El-Hamdaoui.

Lyon: 1 Gregory Coupet, 5 Claudio Roberto Cacapa (C), 12 Anthony Reveillere (Diatta 45), 3 Cristiano Cris, 23 Jeremy Berthod (Sylvain Monsoreau 52), 4 Michael Essien (Jeremy Clement 73), 7 Mahamadou Diarra (Pierre-Alain Frau 58), 10 Florent Malouda, 26 Benoit Pedretti, 22 Sylvain Wiltord (Hatem Ben Arfa 58). Subs from: 25 Joan Hartock, 30 Remy Vercoutre, 15 Lamine Diatta, 24 Sylvain Monsoreau, 6 Jeremy Clement, 31 Francois Clerc, 13 Pierre-Alain Frau, 11 Honorato Nilmar, 19 Karim Benzema, 9 John Carew, 18 Hatem Ben Arfa.