Are you lost? See if these links help.

Social Channels

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Korean
  • Weibo
  • Youku
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sites & Languages


MLS 15 - a guide to the All-Star Game

28 July 2015|Tottenham Hotspur

We are the proud opponents for the 20th edition of Major League Soccer's All-Star Game.

We will step out against the cream of the crop in the MLS at Dick's Sporting Goods Park - home of Colorado Rapids - on Wednesday night (7.15pm local time; 2.15am Thursday UK).

Here's a quick guide to the MLS's annual showcase event...


It's an annual exhibition game featuring the MLS's best players, just like the MLB All-Star Game in baseball, the NFL's Pro Bowl and the NBA's All-Star Game.


The MLS first held the All-Star Game in its inaugural year in 1996, initially pitting teams representing the league's Western and Eastern Conference together. A record 78,416 fans watched East beat the West 3-2 at Giants Stadium. Colombian great Carlos Valderama set-up two goals in that match to win the first All-Sar MVP. The MLS changed the format to MLS USA vs MLS World in 1998 and then played the USA national team in 2002 before starting the current format against an international club in 2003, when the All-Stars beat Guadalajara of Mexico 3-1.


The venue of the All-Star Game changes every year and this year takes place at Dick's Sporting Goods Park, home of the Colorado Rapids.


Since 2013, the MLS All-Star team is always coached by the coach of the host club, so this time around we'll be up against Pablo Mastroeni of the Rapids.


The MLS squad is ultimately selected by the coach, but fans get to vote for 11 players and MLS Commissioner Don Garber has two Commissioner's Picks - he went for Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard. Lampard is injured though and has since been replaced by Dax McCarthy of the NY Red Bulls.


The MLS All-Stars lives up to his billing in 2015 with the likes of Kaka - the captain - David Villa, Steven Gerrard, Clint Dempsey, Italian forward Sebastian Giovincio and current MLS top-scorer Kei Kamara of Columbus Crew.


1996 - East 3-2 West - Giants Stadium, NJ
1997 - East 5-4 West - Giants Stadium, NJ
1998 - MLS USA 6-1 MLS World - Citrus Bowl, Orlando
1999 - East 4-6 West - Qualcomm Stadium, San Diego
2000 - East 9-4 West - Columbus Crew Stadium
2001 - East 6-6 West - Spartan Stadium, San Jose
2002 - MLS 3-2 USA - RFK Stadium, Washington
2003 - MLS 3-1 Guadalajara - Home Depot Center, LA
2004 - East 3-2 West - RFK Stadium
2005 - MLS 4-1 Fulham - Columbus Crew Stadium
2006 - MLS 1-0 Chelsea - Toyota Park, IL
2007 - MLS 2-0 Celtic - Dick's Sporting Goods Park, Colorado
2008 - MLS 3-2 West Ham - BMO Field, Toronto
2009 - MLS 1-1 Everton (Everton won on penalties) - Rio Tinto Stadium, UT
2010 - MLS 2-5 Manchester United - Reliant Stadium, Houston
2011 - MLS 0-4 Manchester United - Red Bull Arena, NJ
2012 - MLS 3-2 Chelsea - PPL Park, PA
2013 - MLS 1-3 Roma - Sporting Park, Kansas City
2014 - MLS 2-1 Bayern Munich - Providence Park, Portland