Are you lost? See if these links help.

Social Channels

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Korean
  • Weibo
  • Youku
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Sites & Languages


Leicester v Spurs - back in time

20 January 2016|Tottenham Hotspur

Leicester City have played a huge part in our FA Cup history.

We've played 12 times in the competition over the years and managed to overcome the Foxes twice on our way to the trophy.

Most famously, the match that defined a team and 'glory, glory' era under Bill Nicholson was against Leicester as goals from Bobby Smith and Terry Dyson secured the FA Cup and First Division championship 'double' in 1961, the first team of the modern era of football to achieve that feat.

Just over 20 years later and another golden era, the early 1980s, saw Keith Burkinshaw's team retain the FA Cup in 1982 with a run that included a semi-final victory over Leicester - with a certain Gary Lineker in the Foxes line-up - at Villa Park. Having won the trophy thanks to Ricky Villa's heroics a year earlier, we went on to beat QPR in the final, again after a replay.

Our first-ever meeting against Foxes was in their first guise as Leicester Fosse all the way back in 1914 - in the first round of the FA Cup. That first match was an incredible 5-5 draw and we won the replay 2-0.

We certainly held the upper hand over our Midland rivals in the early years of FA Cup meetings as we won six and drew one of the first seven ties between 1914-1961.

Below: Steve Perryman and Gary Lineker in action in the 1982 semi-final at Villa Park


But Leicester have hit back since and in the next five ties - right up to and including the 2-2 draw in last week's initial third round encounter at the Lane - the Foxes have won three and drawn one.

Now we're counting down to FA Cup tie number 13 between the two sides - who will it be lucky for?


1913-14: First round (January 10, 1914) - Leicester Fosse 5-5 Spurs (Bliss 2, Cantrell, Minter, Walden)
1913-14: First round replay (January 15, 1914) - Spurs 2-0 Leicester Fosse (Bliss, Walden)
1927-28: Fifth round (February 18, 1928) - Leicester City 0-3 Spurs (O'Callaghan 2, Dimmock)
1947-48: Fifth round (February 7, 1948) - Spurs 5-2 Leicester City (Duquemin 3, Cox 2)
1956-57: Third round (January 5, 1957) - Spurs 2-0 Leicester City (Blanchflower, Robb)
1957-58: Third round (January 4, 1958) - Spurs 4-0 Leicester City (Smith 2, Stokes, Medwin)
1960-61: FA Cup Final (Wembley, May 6, 1961) - Spurs 2-0 Leicester City (Smith, Dyson)
1973-74: Third round (January 5, 1974) - Leicester City 1-0 Spurs
1981-82: Semi-final (Villa Park, April 3, 1982) - Spurs 2-0 Leicester City (Crooks, own goal)
2005-06: Third round (January 8, 2006) - Leicester City 3-2 Spurs (Jenas, Stalteri)
2014-15: Fourth round (January 24, 2015) - Spurs 1-2 Leicester City (Townsend)
2015-16: Third round (January 10, 2016) - Spurs 2-2 Leicester City (Eriksen, Kane)