Skip to main content

Opposition Files

  • Sydney FC History

    Sydney FC was established in 2004 as the inaugural Hyundai Australian-League (A-League) club representing Australia’s biggest city.

    Based out of the Allianz Stadium, a 45,000 venue in the suburb of Moore Park, Sydney FC are the most successful club in the history of the Hyundai A-League.

    The team has won 10 trophies across the Hyundai A-League, the Westfield W-League and Foxtel National Youth League, participating in seven of the 10 A-League finals series, being crowned Champions twice and Premiers (title-winners) on one occasion. They were runners-up in the 2014-15 Grand Final, losing out to Melbourne Victory on Sunday, May 17.

    Sydney FC draws support from right across Sydney, and is one of the most heavily supported clubs in Australia, as they were the only A-League team from Australia's largest city until 2012.

    The club’s first taste of success came before the start of the Hyundai A-League when it won the 2005 Australian Championship and went on to be crowned Champions of Oceania, gaining a place in the 2005 Club World Championships in Japan where it finished fifth.


    Coached by German legend Pierre Littbarski, the success continued in 2005-06 with a Grand Final victory over the Central Coast Mariners making them the inaugural Hyundai A-League Champions.

    Having succeeded in Oceania and at the Club World Championships in 2005, Sydney FC has now competed in two AFC Champions League competitions after Australia moved from the Oceania confederation to Asia.

    The club were crowned Grand Final champions again in 2010 with a penalty shoot-out victory over Melbourne rivals Melbourne Victory.

    Hero of Italian football Alessandro Del Piero signed a two-year contract with the club in September 2012, finishing as the club's top scorer in both seasons and captaining the Sky Blues during the 2013-14 season.

    Following the arrival of Graham Arnold as Head Coach, the club signed Austrian Captain Marc Janko from Turkish club Trabzonspor. Janko set about breaking records in the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 season as he set a new record for goals scored in a season by a Sky Blue player, 16, eclipsing Del Piero's previous record of 14. He also set a new benchmark for the League for goals scored in consecutive matches, notching a goal for the seventh match in a row against Brisbane Roar on 14 March, 2015.

    Sydney finished second in the A-League behind Melbourne Victory at the end of the 27-game regular season to take their place in the Grand Finals.

    They stormed into the Grand Final with a 4-1 success over Adelaide but were then beaten by Melbourne Victory in the showpiece event on May 17, 2015.


    As well as all-time great Del Piero, a number of the world’s greatest players have donned the Sky Blue shirt, including former Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke, Brazilian midfielder Juninho, Japanese legend Kazuyoshi Miura, Italian striker Benito Carbone, Socceroo legend Brett Emerton as well as many of Australia’s best ever products such as Steve Corica, Tony Popovic, Alex Brosque, John Aloisi, Jason Culina and Simon Colosimo.