Skip to main content


  • Trio up for PFA awards
Subscribe to newsfeed 

Trio up for PFA awards

Posted on 16 April 2012  - 18:36

Scott Parker, Gareth Bale and Kyle Walker have been nominated for the prestigious Professional Footballers' Association's (PFA) Player and Young Player of the Year Awards.

Trio up for PFA awards

All-action midfielder and England captain Scott is on the shortlist for the PFA Player of the Year Award - won by Gareth last season.

Meanwhile, both full-back Kyle and flying winger Gareth are nominated for the PFA Young Player of the Year Award.

The winners will be announced at the PFA's annual awards night on Sunday.

Scott has been magnificent in central midfield since joining us from West Ham in August.

Indeed, he's won four of six of our Player of the Month awards this season, voted by fans on Spurs Xtra, Facebook and Twitter.

His performances in a Spurs shirt have seen him secure a regular place in the England team and he proudly led out the national team against Holland at Wembley in February.

This has been Kyle's breakthrough season after spending his early career at Spurs out on successful loan spells at QPR and Aston Villa.

He has featured in 42 of our 48 matches in all competitions so far and scored a memorable first goal for us to win the derby against Arsenal in October.

His performances have also been recognised by England and he won a first senior cap in the friendly against Spain in November.

Gareth has impressed again this season and weighed in with 12 goals in 37 appearances in all competitions, including nine in 31 in the Premier League.


PFA Player of the Year

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
Joe Hart (Manchester City)
Robin van Persie (Arsenal)
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
David Silva (Manchester City)

PFA Young Player of the Year

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal)
Daniel Sturridge (Chelsea)
Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)