Skip to main content


  • This is PSV History
Subscribe to newsfeed 

This is PSV: History

Posted on 1 August 2003  - 12:00

Tottenham Hotspur (Spurs) Football Club is located in North London. The club is also known as Spurs. Tottenham's home ground is White Hart Lane. The club motto is Audere est Facere (To dare is to do).

Part two of our potted history of Sunday's opponents at the Lane, PSV Eindhoven...

History of PSV: 1990-present day

After their European Cup triumph of 1988, the club managed to bring one of the world most talented players to the Philips Stadium; Romario de Souza Faria. During the early 90s — at a time when the club was managed by Sir Bobby Robson - he undoubtedly was the star player in The Netherlands.

After his departure in 1993 his position was taken over by yet another great talent; Ronaldo Luiz Nazario de Lima. Again the PSV scouting team proved its value as Ronaldo turns out to be a world-class player.

In 1996, PSV won the Dutch FA Cup for the seventh time. That year the Supercup (equivalent to our Charity Shield) is renamed Johan Cruijffschaal and the club won the trophy for the first three years of its inception.

In recent years, PSV have continued their dominance of Dutch football, with the other two big clubs Ajax and Feyenoord struggling to keep up. Three championship victories in the last four years has confirmed their position as their country’s leading club with a current crop of players such as Kevin Hofland, Mark van Bommel, Mateja Kezman, Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink, Dennis Rommedahl and Arnold Bruggink, under the guidance of Dutch manager Guus Hiddink.

Last season they won their 17th title with a 0-0 draw in their last match against FC Groningen, but in the Champions League PSV have failed to transfer their domestic form. They have yet to get past the first group phase and for a club of their standing, that is a major disappointment. But, with many years worth of Champions League experience now behind them, they will be looking to put that right this season and you wouldn’t put it past this group of players achieving that.

PSV Eindhoven FactFile
Founded: 1913
Stadium: Philips-stadion. Capacity: 35,000
National Champions — 1928-29; 1934-35; 1950-51; 1962-63; 1974-75; 1975-76; 1977-78; 1985-86; 1986-87; 1987-88; 1988-89; 1990-91; 1991-92; 1996-97; 1999-2000; 2000-01; 2002-03. (17)
KNVB Cup Winners — 1949-50; 1973-74; 1975-76; 1987-88; 1988-89; 1989-90; 1995-96. (Seven)
Supercup Winners — 1992-93; 1996-97; 1997-98; 1998-99; 2000-01; 2001-02. (Six)
UEFA Cup Winners — 1977-78
European Cup Winners — 1987-88