Skip to main content


  • mullery nfm hall of fame
Subscribe to newsfeed 

Mullery to join National Football Museum Hall of Fame

Posted on 27 March 2015  - 11:29

Alan Mullery will be inducted into the National Football Museum Hall of Fame in October.

Alan leads the team out at the LaneAlan holds the League Cup aloft at Wembley in 1971Alan on England duty with Spurs team-mates Martin Chivers and Martin Peters

The National Football Museum have announced the latest batch of 10 inductees and our legendary former skipper will be inducted alongside the likes of Gary Neville, Paul McGrath, Stuart Pearce and Norman Hunter.

Inductees are chosen by a panel featuring some of the biggest names in football including the Museum’s President Sir Bobby Charlton, Vice President Sir Alex Ferguson, Gordon Taylor and Mark Lawrenson.

Alan joined us from Fulham in 1964, helped us win the FA Cup in 1967 and took over the captaincy when Dave Mackay departed for Derby in 1968.

As skipper, he lifted the League Cup in 1971 before his greatest moments in a Spurs shirt, scoring in the semi-final of the UEFA Cup against AC Milan and then in the second leg of the final as we secured the trophy at the Lane against Wolves in 1972.

Alan also represented England on 27 occasions and was a member of the squad that reached the quarter-finals in the 1970 World Cup in Brazil. He played in all three group games - including a famous match against Pele's Brazil, the eventual winners - and then scored as England went 2-0 up against West Germany in the quarter-final before losing 3-2.

After making 373 appearances for us and scoring 30 goals, Alan moved back to Fulham in 1972 and played another 200 games for the Cottagers, leading them to the FA Cup in 1975 and being named Football Writers Player of the Year for 1974-75.

Alan joins some of the club's greats in the National Football Museum's Hall of Fame including Alf Ramsey, Cliff Jones, Dave Mackay, Gary Lineker, Glenn Hoddle, Jimmy Greaves, Martin Peters, Ossie Ardiles, Pat Jennings, Paul Gascoigne, Ray Clemence, Teddy Sheringham, Bill Nicholson and Terry Venables.