Skip to main content


  • Hugo Lloris Ballon dOr shortlist
Subscribe to newsfeed 

Hugo among nominees for Ballon d'Or award

Posted on 24 October 2016  - 18:45

Goalkeeper Hugo Lloris has been named on a 30-man shortlist for the 2016 Ballon d'Or award.


The prize, which recognises the world's best player, has been won by either Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo – both of whom join Hugo on the latest shortlist – every year since 2008.

The Ballon d'Or has been awarded by France Football annually since 1956 and for the past six years it has been run in association with FIFA. However, FIFA ended its association with the award in September.

France Football magazine revealed the shortlist today (Monday, October 24) with the number of nominees traditionally being trimmed to three prior to the presentation of the award in January.