Skip to main content


  • Christian Eriksen Danish Player of the Year 2017
Subscribe to newsfeed 

Eriksen matches Brian Laudrup with fourth Danish Player of the Year title

Posted on 7 January 2018  - 09:25

Christian Eriksen was last night (Saturday 6 January) named Danish Football Player of the Year for a record-equalling fourth time.


The midfielder was recognised for another impressive year in 2017, in which he excelled on the pitch for us and played a decisive role in his nation’s qualification for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Having picked up the accolade in 2013, 2014 and 2015 – when he became the first player in history to win it three years in a row – Christian has now drawn level with Bayern Munich, Fiorentina and Rangers legend Brian Laudrup for the highest amount of times one player has taken the trophy in his career.

Danish football’s most prestigious individual honour and the equivalent of the PFA prize in England, the award has also previously been won by all-time greats Michael Laudrup, Morten Olson, ex-Spur Allan Nielsen and Peter Schmeichel.

Former goalkeeper Schmeichel’s son Kasper, also a stopper, won it in 2016 after helping Leicester City lift the Premier League title.

Congratulations Christian!