Skip to main content


  • Dele named PFA Young Player of the Year
Subscribe to newsfeed 

Dele named PFA Young Player of the Year

Posted on 23 April 2017  - 22:20

Dele Alli has won the Professional Footballers Association's (PFA) Young Player of the Year award for the second-successive year.


In doing do, Dele becomes only the fourth player behind Ryan Giggs (1991-92, 1992-93), Robbie Fowler (1994-95, 1995-96) and Wayne Rooney (2004-05, 2005-06) to win the prestigious award in successive seasons.

He is also the first Spur to take a PFA award in back-to-back seasons. Gareth Bale won both PFA Player and Young Player awards in 2012-13, but didn't take an award in successive seasons.

Dele, 21, held off the challenge of team-mate Harry Kane, Michael Keane (Burnley), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Jordan Pickford (Sunderland) and Leroy Sane (City).

The England international has shone again as we've once more challenged for the Premier League title. He hit the 20-goal milestone in all competitions with his strike in the FA Cup semi-final against Chelsea on Saturday. He has 16 goals in 31 appearances (29 starts) in the Premier League.

Dele is the fifth Spur to win the PFA Young Player award. The first was Glenn Hoddle back in 1979-80 before our recent domination of the award - Kyle Walker, Gareth Bale, Harry Kane and now Dele have won it in five of the last six seasons.


1979-80 - Glenn Hoddle
2011-12 - Kyle Walker
2012-13 - Gareth Bale
2014-15 - Harry Kane
2015-16 - Dele Alli
2016-17 - Dele Alli