Skip to main content


  • 2016-17 in numbers Heung-Min Son monthly awards
Subscribe to newsfeed 

2016-17 in numbers - Son's slice of history

Posted on 4 June 2017  - 16:00

Heung-Min Son created history in the Premier League last season.


The South Korean star became the first Asian winner of the Premier League's Player of the Month award when he landed the 'EA SPORTS Player of the Month' honour in September, 2016.

Sonny followed that up with his second monthly award in April, 2017 - so not only did he become the first Asian player to win a monthly award, he's also the first to win two!

The forward shone in 2016-17 with 21 goals in all competitions. Indeed, his goal at Leicester on May 18 took him to 20 and made sure this current team created a little more Club history, for the first time, three players weighed in with 20-plus goals in all competitions in a season with Sonny's final 21, Dele Alli's 22 and Harry Kane's 35.

Reflecting on his awards, Sonny said: "First of all, I'm really thankful to my team-mates, honestly, without them I'm nothing.

"It has been a really, really special season for me. I’m really proud of myself, I’ve done very well and until now, this is my best season.

"It was such a special, special season but this is not me finished – I want to keep going next season, I want to play better than this season. I have to be ready for next season."

Meanwhile, Harry Kane took his tally of Premier League monthly awards to four last season - only Steven Gerrard (six), Wayne Rooney and Robin van Persie (five each) have won more.

Below: Sonny and Mauricio enjoy a Spurs double in the Premier League in April



Jurgen Klinsmann (August 1994)
David Ginola (December 1998)
Ledley King (September 2004)
Dimitar Berbatov (April 2007)
Robbie Keane (April 2007)
Jermain Defoe (August 2009)
Gareth Bale (April 2010)
Rafael van der Vaart (October 2010)
Scott Parker (November 2011)
Gareth Bale (January 2012)
Gareth Bale (February 2013)
Jan Vertonghen (March 2013)
Harry Kane (January 2015)
Harry Kane (February 2015)
Harry Kane (March 2016)
Heung-Min Son (September 2016)
Dele Alli (January, 2017)
Harry Kane (February 2017)
Heung-Min Son (April 2017)


Gerry Francis (Deecember 1994)
Glenn Hoddle (October 2001)
Glenn Hoddle (August 2002)
Martin Jol (December 2004)
Harry Redknapp (August 2009)
Harry Redknapp (September 2011)
Harry Redknapp (November 2011)
Andre Villas-Boas (December 2012)
Andre Villas-Boas (February 2013)
Mauricio Pochettino (September 2015)
Mauricio Pochettino (February 2016)
Mauricio Pochettino (April 2017)