Skip to main content


New Boys - Watford

Andy Greeves takes a look at the three promoted clubs that will be gracing the Premier League during the 2015-16 season, continuing with the Championship runners-up Watford.

Watford's Troy Deeney and former Spur Heurelho Gomes celebrate promotion from the Championship in May, 2015.

On the back of their last two promotions to the Premier League in 1999 and 2006, Watford finished bottom of the table and suffered relegation the following campaign. Hornets fans will be hoping it’s a case of third time lucky as they prepare to see their team compete in the top division once again in 2015-16.

Formed as Watford Rovers in 1881, the Hertfordshire side have previously enjoyed a total of eight seasons playing in the top flight of English football. Their heyday came during the 1980s, as they spent six consecutive campaigns in the old Division One during the decade, coming second in the league in 1982-83. They were FA Cup runners-up in 1984, while we beat them 4-1 in an FA Cup semi-final at Villa Park on April 11, 1987, with our goals coming from Clive Allen and Paul Allen, while Steve Hodge bagged a brace.

The rest of this article is exclusively for One Hotspur and MySpurs members only